Indian Institute of Technology Madras (IITM)

IIT-M was formally inaugurated in 1959 in Chennai with the assistance of German Government as the 3rd IIT in India. It is a residential institute with nearly 550 academic staff, 8000 students and 1250 administrative and supporting staff and is a self-contained campus located in a land of about 250 hectares. The Institute has sixteen academic departments and some advanced research centres in various disciplines of engineering and pure sciences, with nearly 100 laboratories. It has strong relationships with industry and its staff and students are of very high quality.

Visit IIT-M site

Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (IITK)

IIT-Kanpur was established as the fourth IIT in India in 1959. It is located in 15 km west of Kanpur City in North India and occupies a land close to 420 hectares. It has about 350 faculty members and about 6400 (50% undergraduate and postgraduate each) students. Most research areas in Engineering and Science are represented at IITK. It is known for its research in Engineering and Science.

Visit IITK site

Indian Institute of Science Bangalore (IISc)

Indian Institute of Science is the top ranked research institution in India. It was conceived as a ‘Research Institute’ or ‘University of Researche’ by Jamsetji Nusserwanji Tata in the final years of the 19th century and was established in May 1909.

The Institute offers a variety of Mastere’s degree programs in Engineering, an integrated PhD (post-B.Sc.) program in Sciences, and PhD programs in a wide spectrum of disciplines in science and engineering. In addition, many national research facilities are housed at the Institute. The research laboratories at the Institute are extremely well equipped and the library and computational facilities at the Institute are amongst the best in India.

Visit IISc site

Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur (IITKgp)

IIT Kharagpur is the first Indian Institute of Technology established in India. It was established in 1951 in Kharagpur, in the eastern part of India. IIT Kharagpur has 19 academic departments, 8 multi-disciplinary centres/schools, 13 schools of excellence and central research facilities. IIT Kgp is perhaps the largest and the most diversified among the IITs.

Visit IITKgp site