Melbourne India Postgraduate Academy

MIPP is now even bigger with the launch of Melbourne India Postgraduate Academy (MIPA).

After the grand success of MIPP, we are delighted to announce that the University of Melbourne has signed memorandums of understanding with three of the MIPP partner institutions (IIT Kanpur, IIT Madras and IIT Kharagpur) for a Joint PhD Program. This new program is offered through MIPA (Melbourne India Postgraduate Academy). MIPA Joint PhD Program students will be enrolled at both the University of Melbourne and one of the three partner institutions.

Find out more

MIPP receives Award for Excellence in Internationalisation of Research

Find out more

An elite group of PhD students from India and Australia partnering to find solutions to pressing global problems.

The Melbourne-India Postgraduate Program (MIPP) is a joint initiative of the University of Melbourne and a select group of India’s best research institutions.

The University of Melbourne is a globally-engaged research intensive institution and Australia’s highest ranked university.

In partnership with Indian researchers and institutions, the University is committed to excellence and supporting the investigation, dissemination and application of research which addresses some of the most pressing global problems.

The University of Melbourne and the foundation partners of the program aim to develop productive relationships by providing the next generation of Indian and Australian researchers, innovators and entrepreneurs access to the best research and training opportunities available in both countries.

The program’s Indian foundation partners are:

Indian Institute of Technology Madras (IITM)

IIT-M was formally inaugurated in 1959 in Chennai with the assistance of German Government as the 3rd IIT in India. It is a residential institute with nearly 550 academic staff, 8000 students and 1250 administrative and supporting staff and is a self-contained campus located in a land of about 250 hectares. The Institute has sixteen academic departments and some advanced research centres in various disciplines of engineering and pure sciences, with nearly 100 laboratories. It has strong relationships with industry and its staff and students are of very high quality.

Visit IIT-M site

Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (IITK)

IIT-Kanpur was established as the fourth IIT in India in 1959. It is located in 15 km west of Kanpur City in North India and occupies a land close to 420 hectares. It has about 350 faculty members and about 6400 (50% undergraduate and postgraduate each) students. Most research areas in Engineering and Science are represented at IITK. It is known for its research in Engineering and Science.

Visit site

Indian Institute of Science Bangalore (IISc)

Indian Institute of Science is the top ranked research institution in India. It was conceived as a ‘Research Institute’ or ‘University of Researche’ by Jamsetji Nusserwanji Tata in the final years of the 19th century and was established in May 1909.

The Institute offers a variety of Mastere’s degree programs in Engineering, an integrated Ph.D. (post-B.Sc.) program in Sciences, and Ph.D. programs in a wide spectrum of disciplines in science and engineering. In addition, many national research facilities are housed at the Institute. The research laboratories at the Institute are extremely well equipped and the library and computational facilities at the Institute are amongst the best in India.

Visit IISc site

Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur (IITKgp)

IIT Kharagpur is the first Indian Institute of Technology established in India. It was established in 1951 in Kharagpur, in the eastern part of India. IIT Kharagpur has 19 academic departments, 8 multi-disciplinary centres/schools, 13 schools of excellence and central research facilities. IIT Kgp is perhaps the largest and the most diversified among the IITs.

Visit IITKgp site

Contact Us

Prof Muthupandian Ashokkumar
Director, MIPP
T: +61 3 8344 7090

Dr Meenakshi Arora
Deputy Director, MIPP
T: +61 3 8344 5587

Assoc Prof Udaya Parampalli
T: +61 3 8344 1317

Director of IISc, Prof Anurag Kumar, and a delegation visited University of Melbourne. Find out more

The Director of IITK signed a Joint PhD agreement with the University of Melbourne, joining the IIT Madras who signed a similar agreement. Find out more